Light at the end of the tunnel

We definitely feel complete as a family, and we love that our youngest is nearing two (which also, yikes!) since it also means that we are getting ever closer to a different stage of parenting. Don’t get me wrong, we have a ways to go yet, but we get glimmers of freedom here and there, glimmers of being able to drink a glass of wine at the holidays and have a conversation or five. It’s nice! This was the first Thanksgiving where I felt relaxed and where the kids wandered off in search of others (to be fair, either James or my mom, but still!) and at times, I had no idea where Natalie was! Although it was nice, I’m still glad to have my little people about me.

We are also nearing the end of the ‘never ending month of packing’, which OMG, thank goodness. I STILL find stuff to pack every single day and I think that I’m losing my marbles. It will somehow all work out in the end, though I can’t quite figure that out. I trust in the move, though! We’ll be radio silent starting on Thursday, since I’ll be packing up my computer. You can still email James, however, since he only has a laptop and that is much easier to pack. I have to bubble wrap the heck out of my flat screen monitor, so, it gets packed early! We need a few more boxes (I KNOW!) and more bubble wrap for the tv (annoyed at delicate flat screens right now), so off to Home Depot James goes.

At this point, I’m finding it too stressful to have any of our actual kitchen stuff out – except for pots and pans which get packed into a laundry basket – so we’re loading up on paper plates and bowls and plastic cups this week. I have no qualms about cooking until Thursday night, so that on Friday,  we begin our eating out marathon. We’re being really careful about buying food, as we don’t want to move ANY refrigerated food if we can help it. Luckily, I’ve been meal planning a lot better and we basically empty our fridge before it’s time to hit the store again anyways. I think we’ll be moving some frozen phyllo dough and some frozen coffee beans….not bad, folks!

We’re getting there…..

Leave a Reply

