A Desk Chair

I picked up this rattan chair a while back. It is, as you may have guessed, from the thrift store here in town. The caned seat had a hole, but I saw potential and it was only $35! I like having unique chairs and I hadn’t seen one like this in ages, so i knew it was the right one for me.

However, I’m short on patience to pick up a new skill since I tend to little kids all day, so I needed a quick and easy fix for the seat. It also needs to stand in as a dining chair in a few weeks and needed to be a tad bit higher, so I decided to add a cushion. I didn’t want to spend any money on a new cushion – though I’ll admit I considered taking it to a local upholsterer and getting a quote. I’m lazy though and just wanted to fix it in a few minutes. I found the flattest couch pillow we had and plopped it on the seat – it was the right thickness, though not quite the right shape, but since we’re aiming for quick fix here, you can’t be too picky. The fabric needed an update though…..so I have this handy dandy fabric bin in our basement and I spent a few minutes shopping down there and came up with this! I also did NOT want to spend any time sewing, so I cut it to fit and using safety pins, set it all up and voila!

Maybe one day, we’ll fix the seat or maybe never….it’s not really that high on my list of priorities, but I am happy with my quick fix!

This weekend we’re heading to the local opera house to check out the Nutcracker! Hopefully Conrad can sit through……

One thought on “A Desk Chair

Leave a Reply

