You win some, you lose some

I finally identified the shrub we have growing along our side lot and it isn’t good news. It is the highly invasive bush honeysuckle (we have two varieties: Tartarian and Morrow’s). I’m disappointed but also, I’m discouraged! Anyways, it was a popular shrub sold in the 1950’s and it is pretty, but since it’s invasive, it must go. It will take us time, but it doesn’t sit well with me to keep it. We’re also yanking out garlic mustard (also invasive) but at least that is edible!

In other news, the yard is shaping up nicely and I’ve been working very hard at knocking things off my list. With this new knowledge, my list will have to shift slightly, but that’s ok. I’ll leave you with one of Conrad’s duplo animals to brighten things up!

IMG_9102

Leave a Reply

