Let’s strip!

Is the working title of my new (and in my head) HGTV show…because apparently I think I have lots of time to get all this stuff done! James and I took off our front door yesterday, mostly so I could strip and polish the hinges and doorknob, paint the trim, and strip and repaint the door (the yellow paint was peeling oddly). My plans were somewhat foiled by the wind…the temperature was a perfect outdoor working temperature, but the wind! It kept drying my paint stripper and then it just plain wouldn’t work. Big sigh. Towards the end of the day it started to work more and I got a better feel for the last layer of paint, but then we ran out of time and needed to put the door back up, lest we entertain any random someone who decides they want to come inside…..So another day, we’ll take it back off and I’ll get to work. It’s just how it goes sometimes! You can’t really tell from this picture, but the wood grain is super gorgeous and so I’m going to go for it and strip just this side of the door and only this door anyways. I’m not insane! I’m fine with painted trim throughout our house as it actually tends to be a bit dark inside. I would love to have stained trim, but it’s really ok to have painted trim.

IMG_1722

I have some new wire brushes, stripper and low odor mineral spirits to finish the job and now that I have tried it a bit, I have a much better sense of how to go about it. In other news, I’m going to be digging up grass this week as well to finish out our planting bed in the side lot. There isn’t much left and then it’s just mulch and more mulch! We tend to mix in some fun days in between the work days to give everyone a nice break., and today is a play/break day! Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

